Archive for the ‘CPVLab’ Category

CPVLab 2.10 FTW

November 10th, 2010

One of my main gripes with CPVLab has been speed issues. Not necessarily the speed of the redirects or anything, but the speed of running queries in the stats. I’ve been using it since it came out, and up until last week, I never really deleted any data. Over that time the database became quite a large mess.

For example, running a Trends report would take a number of seconds, if not minutes, to complete. Or running a Stats report for the month. During this time, my redirects for campaigns weren’t working because my server was busy thinking about that Trends query, thus serving empty pages to people.

Now I don’t know if I could blame that on CPVLab specifically, or my server set-up. Either way, it was an issue that bothered me because it just took forever.

Yesterday or maybe 2 days ago, CPVLab 2.10 was released. It seems like these speed issues have been addressed. Stats and Trends show up with the quickness so I’m not sitting around twiddling my thumbs.

Since I’m not a real reporter and I’m lazy, I haven’t asked the CPVLab guys if they addressed these issues specifically. But I have been crying about it to them for a while, so I’m assuming those cries didn’t fall on deaf ears.

If you run your own server, definitely check out MySQLTuner. It’s a handy script that gives you tips on improving your mySQL settings for performance. I am an absolutely retarded server admin, so using this helped me out a bit. If you’re an advanced server admin, then I await your condescending remarks about how retarded I am and that I shouldn’t be using Apache to deliver mad pops.

Anyway, CPVLab is still the shit and now it’s much better. You should definitely be using it if you’re doing PPV (unless you’re special and have rolled your own tracking software).

Despite all this, I’d still recommend a full re-install of the software every few weeks. I don’t care how slick any software is. Once you have millions of queries in a database, you’re wasting precious milliseconds of server time running database queries that could be spent delivering pops. (Insert more condescending remarks about the cloud, load-balancing, and other nerdy topics)

CPVLab – A Week In Review

September 20th, 2010

About 10 days or so ago, I wrote this CPVLab writeup. For full disclosure, I mentioned that the review was based solely on sales video, discussion with the creator, and testimonials from other users.

At that time, I wasn’t using it. Now, it’s about a week and a half later, so what’s the PPC.bz verdict?

CPVLab – Yay! or Nay?

CPVLab Gets the PPC.bz Seal of Approval

That’s gonna be a ‘hells yes!’ The software is awesome, plain and simple.

It’s not some miracle cure for making monies. You still have to know what you’re doing – how to find targets, how to write copy, how to make delicious landers, and how to convert. I just want to cut through any misconceived notion that CPVLab is some “push a button and make monies” guru product. It’s not.

CPVLab is a campaign management and tracking system. If you don’t have campaigns to track and optimize, then it’s of no use to you. If you do have campaigns to track and optimize, or know where to start, then it’s a great tool to have in your toolbox. It will save you time and money, no doubt.

Even after 10 days of using CPVLab, I still haven’t touched every feature. There are 6 campaign types you can set-up, and I’ve just been sticking with 1 or 2- Regular Direct Linking / Landing Page campaigns. You can get into stuff like Lead Capture and E-mail Follow-up, but since I haven’t used those yet so I won’t get into them for this post.

Now onto the stuff that has impressed me the most.

On-the-Fly Campaign Management

This is probably my favorite feature so far. Campaign set-up is a breeze. Just throw in your URLs to your pages, put the LP code on them, then go.

But once a campaign is up and running, the ability to modify stuff quickly is fucking clutch.

Adding New Landing Pages – If you’re a 202 user, then you’re probably using the LP rotator script. The steps involved when adding a new landing page would be – 1) Open your php file, once you navigate to it in File Explorer, Dreamweaver, or what have you 2) Modify your landing page rotation array, where you have to do some match to make sure your % delivery is correct 3) Save 4) Open FTP program 5) Upload (or SVN it).

If you had 3 campaigns going and wanted to add your new landing page to all 3, then it starts to get a little tedious.

The steps to do this in CPVLab are 1) Paste in URL to your campaign 2) Hit Save. Donezo.

By the way, if you’re looking for a 202 rotator script with cookie functionality, I made one here. I make no guarantees on the functionality of this script. Use and test at your own risk.

Example: I tossed up a new campaign a few days ago with some fresh landing pages. I did a small change to one, and used the % Share Distribution feature in CPVLab to split them 50% / 50%. After an hour or two, the data started to show both of these landing pages were doing pretty shitty. Both had CTRs under 1.5%, which is unacceptable for PPV.

‘Fuck me’ I thought. Not to worry, I have CPVLab!

I took an old landing page I didn’t think would work, and tossed it up anyway for shits and giggles. I set the distribution on the new one to 70% to dedicate most of the traffic there, since the other two were losers. The losers still had 15% share each to give them a chance- just in case it was a fluke.

Also, thanks to the alerts which highlight any target not performing to your specifications, I saw that 2 targets were getting high traffic but giving me awful CTR.

With the quickness, I paused those two targets and had the new Landing Page getting the majority of the traffic. A few hours passed by, and the new landing page hovered around 7 to 9%. The 2 losers improved slightly because I dropped the bad targets, but never broke past 2.5%.

With just a few hours of data, the campaign is profitable. I set the winning landing page to 100% to suck up all the traffic until I revisit the campaign with new landers and changes.

This is the simplest example of getting PPV with landing pages to work. No bullshit really. Throw up a campaign, wait a few, trim the bad targets, and trim the lower-performing landing pages. Repeat process over and over until you’re only seeing marginal gains. It’s just so damn fast doing it with CPVLab.

Pro Tip: Running a Test Properly

Some marketers, specifically newbies, do their split testing incorrectly. I’ve definitely fucked up plenty of tests in my day too. They 1) dedicate too much traffic to new pages, sucking away money from their profitable pages. Or they 2) test too much at once, and make decisions with insufficient data.

1. Proper Testing Distribution

– Let’s say you have a profitable campaign going. You want to test a flashy button on your page. You create the new page, everything equal expect that new button, and distribute traffic 50% / 50%.

While it sounds like a good idea, it’s basically a coin flip. During the test, if the new page does worse, you’re going to lose money. If it does better, then you’ll make some money.

Pre-Test
100%: Landing Page 01 = 50% ROI
During-Test
50%: Landing Page 01 = 50% ROI
50%: Landing Page 02 = 20% ROI
Post-Test
Let’s say you spend $200 a day on this campaign. You run the test for 10 days. Total spend would be $2,000.

Before the test, you’d make $1,000 profit over those 10 days ($2,000 Spend x 50% ROI = $1,000 Profit)

During the test, you’d make only $700 profit over those 10 days ($1,000 Spend to Page 01 x 50% ROI = $500 and $1,000 Spend to Page 02 x 20% = $200. $500 + $200 = $700.)

You just shit the bed on $300. This can be particularly devastating if the new page produces negative ROI. Granted, most people wouldn’t let a losing page run this long, but let’s say they do in this example.

Even Worse….
What if you want to test two variations of this flashy button? You split 3 pages, your control and your 2 experiments.

33%: Landing Page 01 = 50% ROI
33%: Landing Page 02Green = 20% ROI
33%: Landing Page 02Red = 25% ROI

For the sake of me not having to bust out a calculator, let’s say you spend $300 a day on this campaign over 10 days. $3,000 ad spend.

Before the test, you’d make $1,500 profit over those 10 days ($3,000 Spend x 50% ROI = $1,500 Profit)

During the test, you’d make only $950 profit over those 10 days ($1,000 Spend to Page 01 x 50% ROI = $500 and $1,000 Spend to Page 02 Green x 20% = $200. $1,000 Spend to Page 03 Red x 25% ROI = $250. $500 + $200 + $250 = $950.)

The bottom line in this example is: Your flashy button does not perform better than your control, so don’t be a fuck-up and dedicate 66% of your traffic to the flashy button! Basically you lost $550 because of your shitty testing skills. If your 2 new pages did really, really bad, then you’d be losing money hand over fist until you realized your mistake.

Conclusion: The idea is to not wrap up too much traffic in untested waters. Whenever you run a new test on a landing page, keep the distribution to a level that won’t ruin your numbers. Basically, MINIMIZE YOUR RISK!

Edit: After writing this post, I recalled that a fellow named CPA spelled out some similar advice about proper testing.

Keep your control as the control! It’s science. It’s why its called a control.

If you have one new page, you’d split it 80%/20% to your Control and Experiment. If you had two new pages (adding two variations of a flashy button), you’d split it 80%/10%/10%. Most goes to your control, and a bit goes to each Experiment. (Btw, 80% is not the magic number or anything. Use whatever numbers you feel comfortable with.)

This is a specific pitfall with 202′s landing page rotator script. The code looks like this for splitting 3 pages:
$landingPage[1]=page1.php;
$landingPage[2]=page2a.php;
$landingPage[3]=page2b.php;

It looks correct and works correctly, but its still a 33% distribution. If you want proper distribution, your code would look like this (assume 80/10/10)

$landingPage[1]=page1.php;
$landingPage[2]=page1.php;
$landingPage[3]=page1.php;
$landingPage[3]=page1.php;
$landingPage[4]=page1.php;
$landingPage[5]=page1.php;
$landingPage[6]=page1.php;
$landingPage[7]=page1.php;
$landingPage[8]=page1.php;
$landingPage[9]=page2a.php;
$landingPage[10]=page2b.php;

I’m not sure how many people fuck this up, but I think its a good amount. Maybe people don’t realize its wrong, or maybe people don’t like doing math. Either way, it can fuck a campaign up if your new experiments are performing worse than your control.

Either way, CPVLab makes this a breeze. Just type in % numbers in your campaign. No need to fuck with your landing page array in a php file. You can edit these %’s on the fly. If something is working better right off the bat, login to your Control Panel and up the % a little bit, or all the way. Make $$$ ho.

Note for CPVLab Users – Just because it’s CPVLab doesn’t mean you’re immune to bad testing either. You can hit the ” = ” button to distribute the % evenly and think its good, but its not. You have to do the math in your head and input the correct numbers. The control would be 80% and the tests would be 10% each, or whatever numbers you choose.

If you start a new campaign with 4 completely different landing pages, then 25% to each is fine.

But if you start a new campaign 2 different landing pages, while rotating 3 different images on one of them, then 25% each is not fine. You want even distribution to different styles of landing pages, not the individual changes on a single page. The distribution on this example would be:
50% to Page01
17% to Page02-w-Baby-Baby
17% to Page02-w-Baby-Girl
16% to Page02-w-Mommy

2. Making Decisions with Insufficient Data

This one is a killer for many people starting out. I’ve definitely fucked this one up and continue to do so sometimes. You here the catch-phrase “Test Everything” thrown around like its going out of style. If you’re a newbie, you might take this to heart and actually test everything.

The problem with testing everything is that each change requires sufficient data to make good decisions. If you test 4 different styles of landing pages, 4 pictures one each, and 4 Call-to-Actions on your buttons, that’s 64 variations you are testing. (This an extreme example because no one is setting up 64 variations with 202)

If you set your decision-making at 1,000 views on a page, that means that this test will cost you $640 (64,000 views @ $10 CPM) to see satisfactory results. I don’t know many people starting out willing to spend that much on their affiliate marketing endeavors, let alone on a single campaign (even though that’s what this game is)

Most newbies will run this kind of test, but bitch out at after spending $100. Let’s say only about 6 pages will work out of the 64. 10% of the pages in your experiment make money, 90% don’t. After spending $100, $90 went to unprofitable pages and $10 went to profitable ones. No matter which way you slice it, this is not enough data to make any kind of decision whatsoever.

Most people just give up on the campaign entirely at this point and call it a bust (No shit when you only sent $10 worth of traffic to pages making money) They then blame shoemoney for selling them the dream when the reality is affiliate marketing is one cold-hearted bitch.

Trying to test many variables at once is solved with multi-variate testing, but its not something I am an expert on, so I won’t ramble on about this shit anymore.

The point is that you only need to test the important stuff first. The headline is the most important part. I wrote about the importance of headlines here.

You don’t have to TEST everything. Just TRACK everything so you’re collecting the data. TEST the most important stuff first. Look at data you’ve TRACKED later on to optimize your campaign (keywords, time of day, etc)

Anyway, back to CPVLab.

Ultra Fast Stats

Looking at your Stats, Reports, and Trends in CPVLab is lighting quick. I really don’t know how the software does it so fast.

If you used 202 for CPV, then you’re probably familiar with the delays in reporting. Because there are so many ‘clicks’ with CPV, 202 took quite a while to display your reports if you changed any criteria. For example, if you had reports showing for the past week, and now you wanted to show the past 2 months, 202 had to chug along to run that new query. I don’t know if it was just me this happened to, but sometimes any new query would take several seconds, if not longer. It has been spruced up in recent versions, but its always something I noticed.

CPVLab produces your reports almost instantly. Change your time frame and your new report is showing as soon as you hit Go. Database optimization ninjas.

Excellent Support

Initially I, along with other users, had some problems with CPVLab. Since the software was “in-house,” then released to the public, there were a bunch of things that the creators didn’t notice. If you’ve ever built yourself some software, then you know your program like the back of your hand. But if you show it to some fresh eyes, they might go ‘wtf?’

Not only that, I have a knack for testing and breaking software. If your shit has a bug, I will probably find it. If your shit could be easier to use, I will notice it. If something is just wrong, I’ll say it.

Robert of CPVLab has taken my critiques, along with critiques from other users, to make CPVLab better. During my first few days of use, I would not have recommended this software just yet. It had many minor bugs and glitches.

For example, there was no time-frame on your stats. If you were on the fence and CPVLab, then bought it because of my review, then you’d be like “Fuck You Barman I can’t even view stats by day?!”

A recent patch a few days ago solved that problem and many others. There is another update in the works that solves a Reporting SubID’s problem (just use a pixel to get around this), along with a shit ton of other features I can’t remember.

I’m comfortable now in recommending CPVLab. There are a few issues still being worked on by their team, but CPVLab is ready to go out of the box.

CPVLab – Affiliate Marketing Analytics for Advanced Users

September 8th, 2010

A Foreword to a Long Blog Post

CPVLabIf you’re like any affiliate in this industry, chances are your tracking solution of choice is Prosper202.

Before I continue, I just gotta say that I love 202 and Wes for what they did (who doesn’t?) It’s a free piece of software, and for about 2-3 years it was the only solution out there besides rolling your own (and if people found something better, then they have been keeping their trap shut about it.)

Prosper202 is an easy to install and easy to use piece of software, and it gets the job done for many things. It’s also free, which means you can’t really complain (Like I am about to). It tracks a lot of shit, and tells you a lot of information that you would not have known without it.

I was going to title this post “The Prosper202 Killer” but I’m trying to be civil. I really can’t be bitching about free software.

So everyone loves Prosper202, but to me -there was always something …. missing.

No. Let’s be honest, there is a lot of shit that is missing. There is so much affiliates want, shit, need in a tracking solution, that 202 lacks. There is a need for seeing certain stats that don’t show up by default (something as simple as seeing CTR from a single keyword), rotating landers automatically, and proper distribution of offers in rotation, so on and so forth.

The main issue is, while 202 collects a lot of important data, it’s not displayed the way I want. The shit I want to know is hidden deep in the underbelly of Excel exports. Every affiliate does shit differently, so what I want may be different from what you want. Your yearning for delicious data nuggets may be different from mine.

So, you have to export Excel files, combine them, analyze the data, whether it’s by hand or Pivot Tables, and the you make some educated guesses. What to trim and what to keep. Group Overview helps with this, but even that is still lacking.

All of this data analysis takes a shit ton of time to do. It’s a fucking chore having all these data files around your desktop. And what if you paused some campaigns for a little while to re-do some landers or something. You come back and you’re like “Fuck me, where did I even leave off? Was it this campaign or that campaign? Which file did I combine all this data into? Mother of god, kill me.”

What is CPVLab? Have My Dreams Come True?

A few days ago David at PPV Playbook (which you should be a member of, by the way) told me about CPVLab. My initial response (common to any product I see) was “What the fuck is this gay ass shit? Get it out of my face!”

Then I watched the video on the sales page. Sweet Jesus, my pants!

Robert drones on for 30 minutes, highlighting feature after delicious feature. I mean drone in a good way too, like you’re some science lover listening to a Neil deGrasse Tyson lecture.

It’s like affiliate marketing porn. I had to pinch myself to make sure what I was seeing was true. When I realized I wasn’t dreaming, I quickly put on some pants.

What’s Going on PPC.bz? Are You Selling Out?

The short answer is yes. I only had to watch the video once to be sold on buying the product. Then I talked to Robert, the man behind the action. Now, I’m sold on selling out PPC.bz for CPVLab.

Robert has been in direct response for 12 years and affiliate marketing for 7 years. While I’ve never met the guy, I like his jive. We discussed his future plans for the product, feedback so far, and other such nonsense, which I’ll get into later. All of it was music to my ears.

So to be clear, I am writing this post and I just bought the product. I got the download link while writing this post. I haven’t used CPVLab yet- but I will very soon. Everything you’re reading now is pure speculation. All future posts will be about actually using CPVLab. Raw testimonial son.

I will be posting more about how to use it, why you should use it, and whatever else I can come up with high. This is just the first post in a series about CPVLab. Stay tuned motherfuckers.

Stats Stats Stats Metrics Metrics Metrics

The thing that sold me on the video from CPVLab was “OK we’re not going to bullshit, let’s get right into it…”

What CPVLab lacks in looks, flashy 5-mile long sales page, and user testimonials, it more than makes up for in data. Raw fucking data at your fingertips. The kind of data you’ve always wanted but had to dig for. If you’re like me you’ve spent hours mining this data, and you’re sick of doing it. Tell me what keyword or target is working on what landing page now, goddamnit!

Who Should Use CPVLab?

From what I’ve been told and from what I’ve read, CPVLab is for experienced marketers. This means you know where to get traffic, you know which offers to run (or want to), you know how to optimize campaigns, you know where to get creatives, the whole nine yards. You don’t have to be a “thuper-affiliate,” you just need to understand the fundamentals of the game.

Basically – get it if you know how to do internet.

On the other hand, CPVLab is not for people who ask stupid fucking questions.

If I see another “My Prosper202 isn’t tracking! Help!” or “Prosper202 isn’t working on my 1and1 $5 a year hosting” or “How do I setup a direct linking campaign in Prosper202,” I’ll go fucking ape shit. I will start killing these people. How the 202 staff deals with these stupid fucking questions is beyond me. I give them props for not smashing their monitors in a fit of rage every time some stupid fuckjob asks some stupid fucking question that would take any computer literate person 12 seconds to figure out.

I swear to god some of you people are fucking retards. What the fuck is so hard about figuring out Prosper202? It takes 5 minutes to setup and 30 minutes to figure out. I hate you. Seriously. May god have mercy on your souls.

Don’t buy it if you’re a newbie. Users like me will get pissed if you’re wasting Robert and his teams’ time with stupid fucking questions, where they could be working on updates and fixes.

Is it Just for CPV?

That was one of the first questions I had when discovering this software. There is so much super sick shit for bros here, why would they market it as a PPV product? So I asked Robert “These features could apply to any traffic source. Why just CPV?” and he said:

It ties into the big picture. We’re going to be releasing more scripts which are basically modules in the big picture. These are all going to tie into one primary business dashboard basically that will allow you to pretty much cut and paste your most profitable campaigns and also pieces of campaigns to create new ones. Then run the campaign across multiple traffic sources and compare the performance of each side by side. Each of these will also have the alerts and optimization features built it. It’s actually going to be quite insane. I’ve been in direct response marketing for 12 years now and affiliate marketing around 7, most of these tools are things my team has developed over this time.

If I were you and did no CPV, I’d still buy this shit for PPC, Media, Email, so on and so forth.

Super Sick Shit – Alerts

Let’s get into some of this super sick shit for bros.

Alerts. Here’s how they work.
1. Setup Campaign
2. Set Alert Criteria (X number of views on X keyword before X conversion)
3. Receive Emails
4. ….
5. Profit?

I’ve been told that you can setup these alerts and hire a Virtual Assistant to optimize your campaigns for you. This is the essence of “throwing shit at the wall and seeing what sticks.” If you hired a VA to do it for you, you don’t even have to touch the shit on the wall.

This is some juicy shit already, and I can’t wait to dive into it. But wait, there’s more!

I’ve been told that alerts are going to be put into an AIR app with more super sick shit features. That sounds a lot more fun than a mess of email alerts (even though that’s money right there).

Super Sick Shit – Splitting Landing Pages and Offer

This was a function lacking in 202 for the longest time. So simple, yet so essential. There are definitely hacks out there for it, but really this needs to be built into any affiliate tracking software (Specifically PPV traffic). CPVLab does all that.

Currently the software splits 50/50. I recommended this number be editable. It is done. (not done as of writing this, but its been noted as an update)

Super Sick Shit – Email Follow-up

You can track your email follow-up campaigns. Let’s see you hack Aweber and Prosper202 to do that. (People have done it of course, but that’s not some hack you share with the world)

I’m basing this post off videos, reading, and talking. Once I get into the software, there will be many more posts to come. I’m going to end here before I put my foot in my mouth.

How Much? Coupon? Discount?

CPVLab sells for $297 and updates are $147 a year. If you scoff at this “high” price tag, then you are a cheap newbie bastard. That’s less than a $1 a day. They feed kids in Africa on less than that. If you’re serious about your affiliate marketing and you can’t spend that on your business, then I don’t know what to fucking tell you. Fuck off and leave my blog forever.

If you haven’t thought of just one way to implement CPVLab by watching the intro video and reading this post, then you probably shouldn’t buy it.

There are no coupons or discounts being issued. I asked. I was told when CPVLab releases more shit, the price is going up. Up, not down. Good. The higher the price, the less retards out there begging for help on free software.

So get it while the getting is good. If you’re not sold on the product, then go watch the video on the CPVLab homepage. In all honesty, it’s a shitty sales page. But who cares. You’re going to be using the product, not looking at the sales page. Time has been spent making the product awesome, not creating JV partnerships and other Warrior Forum guru nonsense.

Also you should buy it though my affiliate link cause this blog needs to make me some fucking money already. The things I’ve done for you people….

What Do I Hate About CPVLab So Far?

The only thing I hate about CPVLab so far is that it uses PayDot.com. The thought of giving Mike Filsaime a fucking penny via commissions or fees makes me sick to my stomach. I’m vomiting right now.

That’s it so far though!